Welcome to Murrumbidgee Council

At 12:10pm Thursday 12 May 2016 Murrumbidgee Shire Council ceased to exist. Murrumbidgee became part of a new Council “Murrumbidgee Council” following the NSW Government decision to adopt the proposal put forward by Jerilderie Shire Council on behalf of its community.

The merger of Murrumbidgee Shire Council and Jerilderie Shire Council has created a new Local Government Area of 6680 sq km with a population of 4047 and encompassing the communities of Jerilderie, Coleambally and Darlington Point.

Interim General Manager of the new Council is Mr Craig Moffitt and the Administrator is Mr Austin Evans. Deputy General Manager is Mr Phil Pinyon.

The Councillors of the two Councils will be approached to continue their involvement in Community Advisory Committees leading up to an election scheduled for September 2017.






20 May 2016

Please follow the link below to read further information about how the new Murrumbidgee Council will be run, who will pay for Murrumbidgee to be established and other details regarding the organisation.
Community Fact Sheet - Murrumbidgee Council

12 May 2016

Murrumbidgee has been retained with the announcement earlier today by the NSW Government of the outcome of a four year change process for the Local Government sector.

Mayor of Murrumbidgee, Cr Austin Evans welcomed the news that the name Murrumbidgee would be retained as a new entity was created to incorporate the whole of both the current shire and the former Jerilderie Shire.

The announcements were made during a media conference at 12.30pm when the Premier Mike Baird was...

29 June 2015

To download documentation regarding Community Grants, please click on the links below:-

Community Grant Application & Guidelines

Applications close at 5.00pm on Tuesday 31 May, 2016.